The Indigenous Research Initiative Steering Committee provides advice to the OHTN on nurturing and supporting research relevant to Indigenous peoples in Ontario. It advises on Indigenous research priorities and on developing research capacity and programs that embody the OCAP principles of Ownership, Control, Access and Possession and ethical research principles that are specific to Inuit and Métis communities. The committee also acts as a bridge with Indigenous stakeholders to strengthen relationships with and within Indigenous communities in a good way. The Steering Committee will work to educate the OHTN about Indigenous experience and culturally safe research methodologies.

Committee Members

Art Zoccole, Executive Director of 2 Spirits of the First Nation – Chair
Bonnie Freeman
Charlie Hill
Randy Jackson
Tony Nobis, Executive Director of the Ontario HIV/AIDS Strategy
Doe O’Brien-Teengs
Margaret Robinson
Wanda Whitebird